Home » The Minnesota 15

MN United PAC is dedicated to supporting and re-electing the bipartisan group of legislators who helped make marriage for same-sex couples a reality in Minnesota. Today, we are proud to start introducing you to “The Minnesota 15″ – fifteen legislators who will be priorities for MN United PAC in their upcoming elections.

Please consider a generous contribution to MN United PAC today to support these pro-freedom, pro-marriage lawmakers and ensure they are re-elected to the Minnesota Legislature:

1. Representative Joe Radinovich (DFL)
of Crosby, Minnesota – District 10B
A lifelong resident of the Cuyuna Range, Representative Radinovich is currently serving his first term in the Minnesota House of Representatives. An active community member and outdoorsman, Representative Radinovich won his election last November by just 323 votes!

2. Representative Shannon Savick (DFL)
of Wells, Minnesota – District 27A
Previously the Mayor and a member of the City Council of Wells, MN, Representative Savick grew up in Bricelyn, Minnesota. Following her father’s heart attack, Representative Savick postponed her college career to help her mother run the family cafe in Keister – and most recently won her 2012 election by less than 700 votes.

3. Representative Tim Faust (DFL)
of Hinckley, Minnesota – District 11B
Representative Faust is currently serving his third term in the Minnesota House, and also serves as the pastor of two Lutheran congregations: one in Cloverdale, MN and the other in Danbury, WI. He has long been involved with the Mora Area Youth Recreation Association (MAYRA) and gave a very emotional floor speech during the historic marriage debate.

4. Representative Roger Erickson (DFL)
of Baudette, Minnesota – District 2B
A retired teacher, Representative Erickson was raised in Rouseau, Minnesota and attended college in Thief River Falls and Bemidji. He has also coached golf and football at Lake of the Woods Schools for more than 25 years and still holds a weekly golf clinic at Oak Harbor Golf Course in Baudette.

5. Representative John Persell (DFL) 
of Bemidji, Minnesota – District 5A
Currently a member of the American Legion Honor Guard and a veteran of the United States Air Force, Representative Persell is also an avid outdoorsman and comunity member who participates in the Take A Kid Fishing program as a guide. He is currently serving in his third term as a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives.

6. Representative John Ward (DFL)
of Brainerd, MN – District 10A
Representative Ward began his political career in 1982 with his election to the City Council of Proctor, Minnesota. He then became the Mayor of Proctor, dedicating himself to more public works projects than any Mayor in Proctor’s history. He is currently serving his fourth therm in the Minnesota Legislature.

7. Representative Pat Garofalo (R)

of Farmington, MN – District 58B
A graduate of Rosemount High School (1989) and Mankato State University (1994), Representative Garofalo is a lifelong Minnesota. He was first elected to the Minnesota Legislature in 2004, and was honored as Freshman Legislator of the Year that term. Pat is a consultant working as a network and voice engineer and a member of All Saints Catholic Church in Lakeville. 

8. Representative Paul Marquart (DFL)

of Dilworth, MN – District 4B
First elected to the Minnesota House in 2000, Representative Marquart has been a teacher in the Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton School District since 1984. He has also served on the Dilworth City Council and was the city’s Mayor from 1990 – 2000.

9. Representative Jenifer Loon (R)

of Eden Prairie, MN – District 48B
Representative Loon grew up in a small, rural town on her family’s dairy farm. She and her husband, Doug, have two daughters, and are active community members in the Eden Prairie Schools and community organizations and at Prairie Lutheran Church. Representative Loon has an extensive background in business and legislative policy, which includes serving as the Chief of Staff for the Committee on Small Business in the United States House of Representatives.

10. Representative Jay McNamar (DFL) 

of Elbow Lake, MN – District 12A
Representative McNamar was a coach and teacher in the Elbow Lake area for 36 years before retiring in 2007 with his wife, Robin. During that time, he received the Alexandria Area Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year Award. He has also served as an EMT for Prairie Ridge Hospital, a firefighter for the Elbow Lake Fire Department for 20 years, and currently also serves as the Mayor of Elbow Lake, MN.

Senator Branden Petersen (R)

of Andover, MN – District 35
Senator Petersen and his wife have spent nearly their entire lives in Northwest Anoka County. Branden graduated from Coon Rapids High School, and before being elected to the Minnesota Legislature, he worked as a sales manager in the Twin Cities and Greater Mankato areas. He was first elected to the Minnesota House in 2010, and is now serving his first term in the Minnesota State Senate. Senator Petersen has the distinction of being the first Republican to speak out in favor of the freedom to marry in 2013, and was also a co-author of the historic legislation in the Senate.

12. Representative Tom Anzelc (DFL)
of Balsam Township, MN – District 5B
A Keewatin native, Representative Anzelc was first elected to the Minnesota House in 2006. He is former teacher, county commissioner, labor official, and administrator with former Minnesota Governor Rudy Perpich.

13. Representative Andrea Kieffer (R)
of Woodbury, MN – District 53B
A graduate of the University of Minnesota’s Carlson School of Management, Representative Kieffer has served in the Minnesota Legislature since 2010. She is a member of Minnesota Excellence in Public Service, the Woodbury Area Chamber of Commerce, the Woodbury Children’s Hospital, and the Woodbury Community Foundation. 

14. Representative Andrew Falk (DFL)

of Murdock, MN – District 17A
Representative Falk graduated from the Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunberg Public School System, then went on to earn his Bachelor’s Degree in Entrepreneurial Management & Finance from the University of Minnesota’s Carlson School of Management. He is a soybean and seed processing farmer and co-founder of Knight Energy, LLC. Representative Falk has been a member of the Minnesota House since 2008.

15. Representative David FitzSimmons (R)

of Albertville, MN – District 30B
Currently serving his first term in the Minnesota Legislature, Representative FitzSimmons is a long-time resident of Wright County who worked for several years in his family’s agricultural business. An active community member, Representative FitzSimmons is credited with amending the historic marriage bill to include some of the strongest religious liberty protections in the nation, specifying “civil marriage” in state statute and ensuring that religious institutions will never be forced to violate their deeply-held beliefs.

Click here right now to contribute to MN United PAC to support these legislators and other pro-marriage lawmakers like them!

Back to top